What I do like about this Opel brochure is that it’s really helpful when it comes to explaining what the viewer is looking at. Specifically, I mean this:

So, this picture of those mouse-fur-colored seats surrounded by windows is the interior of the car? Shit, thanks for clearing that up, fellas! Another mystery solved! Also, is that rear seat a 90/10 split? Is that what I’m seeing there? UPDATE: Oops. I called the Pontiac version a Grand Am when I should have put LeMans. Forgive me. In case you don’t think an apology is penance enough, know I made some people quite cross about it online:

I like the “never, EVER” part. This is the kind of passion we need! But I stand by the dunking, proofread or not, Jerry. Also, David, who sent me this screenshot, needs to charge his phone.   Vauxhall is British, so it is an Imperial English 60:40 split, not a metric 60:40 or SAE 60:40. I remember driving one, even though I’ve tried in the intervening years to forget. It was, well, pathetic. Made the Ford Festiva look rather sumptuous. Oddly enough, the Kadett version, while still tinny and noisy, seemed like a nicer car, if not by much. IIRC, Pontiac tried to see these for about 45 minutes. Don’t think I’ve seen one since. What I always remember is that while his had a manual, it didn’t have a tach. So in its place was a dead gauge….a round indentation on one side that simply had a Pontiac logo in the middle. Ah those days… In ridiculous summary for Canada: 1988-1991 Passport Optima 1992 Pontiac LeMans 1993 Asüna SE & GT They were all the Daewoo manufactured versions. Miserable heaps indeed. Interestingly, Brazil got this car as a 3-door hatchback and a 3- and later 5-door wagon. For some reason Brazilians had a thing for 2-door cars in the ’70s and ’80s and by this time four doors was a new and trendy innovation. It replaced a Morris Marina. My Dad was a brilliant secondhand book seller but a terrible secondhand car buyer. Akin to McDonald’s making a new small 99 cent cheeseburger called the Filet McMignon. Cool for 1984, terrible and sad when I bought it in 1997. It’s toddler food; as long as it’s healthy why does packaging matter? Kids are probably going to throw it on the floor anyway. It’s like those people who buy expensive “premium” gourmet food for their dog who’s been gobbling up horse poop.

When Opel Wanted To Be Sure You Knew What The Inside Of A Car Looked Like  Cold Start - 46When Opel Wanted To Be Sure You Knew What The Inside Of A Car Looked Like  Cold Start - 28When Opel Wanted To Be Sure You Knew What The Inside Of A Car Looked Like  Cold Start - 98