There are almost no similarities between the Alpe Concept and the Escape that Ford ended up building other than the grey body plastic cladding. I feel like the c-pillar that extends up into the roof rack is inspired and the chrome strip that runs from the front fender and across the greenhouse is an idea that needs to be realized. The wheel covers that seem to turn with the wheels themselves and are separated from the body? Wild and not practical. Still, I wish Ford had tried. Here’s a bit of explanation from an article about the concept from the Chicago Tribune: I love a future past where this was Ford’s new design language, even if it would have never worked. “We’re trying to move as fast as we can to get a small sport-utility out in the market as quick as we can. We’re two to three years away,” said Ross Roberts, Ford division general manager. Photo Credit: Ford I most clearly recall it on the second gen Escape (which really leaned into that chunky for your pleasure styling), but first may have had it too, been years since I’ve seen one. Heck it would make a niftier Ecosport followup now that Ford doesn’t have an entry in the segment. I miss all the exploratory 90s SUV concepts – often a “we’re not sure what’s going to happen but we know we need to be here”. Expecting honesty from marketers is a mug’s game, and I know this ship has well and truly sailed, but it still annoys me. “Crossover” is just a softer term for small SUVs, intended to make them more palatable to people who don’t want the stigma associated with driving a big gas-guzzler like a Suburban. That’s all. Which makes me wonder if in the future, crossovers will be considered the cool thing among the counter-car-culture crowd. Which really makes me wonder what will be so terrible that crossovers are considered cool…I’m assuming it’ll be vehicles that don’t allow you to drive except in emergencies…sigh. I drive an RDX. Is that a crossover? I don’t even know. If anything, I’d say normal cars – sedans and hatchbacks – and, especially, coupes and convertibles – are the ones that are considered uncool and unfashionable now The original escape, especially with a stick and awd, was exceptionally well suited for a slightly more rugged life than a hatchback or wagon could handle. First gen rav-4’s were much the same. Hey, we need a holy grail about the first gen rav-4 awd with a stick. With mild upgrades, they can hang with the big boys off road! There’s no way that would get even 10% of RAV4 or CRV sales.
There’s a reason that most concept cars don’t go into series production, and this is a prime example. Ford Escape borrowed from the Tribute, and arrived to market in 2001…

This Should Have Been The Ford Escape  Cold Start - 82This Should Have Been The Ford Escape  Cold Start - 26